Friday, July 03, 2015


Here’s an alternate take of this classic, also issued at the time, with a different spoken intro by Bob, different solos, and without the familiar “Domino!” exclamation at the end. . . .

Bob Wills & His Texas Playboys • Steel Guitar Rag • 1936

Bob Wills, fiddle/spoken; Jesse Ashlock, fiddle; Sleepy Johnson, fiddle/guitar; Everett Stover, trumpet; Ray DeGeer, clarinet/sax; Zeb McNally, sax; Leon McAuliffe, electric steel guitar; Al Stricklin, piano; Johnnie Lee Wills, tenor banjo; Herman Arnspiger, guitar; Joe Ferguson, string bass; Smokey Dacus, drums. Chicago, 29 September 1936

Both versions of “Steel Guitar Rag” are on Bear Family’s Bob Wills box San Antonio Rose.

Illustration: Ben Shahn. Four Piece Orchestra, 1944

No comments:

Post a Comment